Posted by: johnnadette | February 19, 2009

Busy little bee

We had a death in the family so I haven’t felt like blogging for awhile, but that hasn’t stopped me from being a busy little bee when it comes to knitting and crafting.

Sodera Socks

First off I finished my Sodera Socks. I like having a pair of knee highs but these are probably my least favorite socks to date. Given the fact that I had never done the heal prescribed in the pattern I think I made the foot portion too long and the pattern just doesn’t show up properly. They are cute and it is a nice pattern but I would do a different heal were I to make a second pair.  I can tell that I have improved in knitting because the lace pattern is the same as that in Hedra socks (which were my first pair of socks.) At that time I was sorta attempting to do combined knitting with out really reading though all of the direction of adapting regular knitting patterns to combined knitting. It still looks like the pattern but there is something off. I now knit in continental style.

I have also started on my first adult size sweater. When I first saw the Owls pattern online I fell in love, so cute yet sophisticated. Perfect first sweater I thought. We had an upcoming trip down to Portland so I figured I should combine this great sweater with a trip to Yarnia.  I picked out this lovely combo of browns and a small burgundy. Unfortunately when I knit a swatch the owl disappeared in the colors of the yarn.

Nice colors but the yarn is just to busy for what I want. So what was I to do, I had a pattern I wanted to do with no yarn and all of this yarn in need of a pattern. Since it is my policy to buy yarn for a project in a effort to not have a giant stash a pattern needed to be found for this yarn. Out came my knitting books and magazines, I was looking for something simple that would let the yarn shine with a similar gauge. While flipping through Fitted Knits I found it, the Short Sleeved Cardigan with Ribbing. I don’t have any pictures of it in progress but it has gone really fast, I am already on the sleeves.

Leave a Reply

Categories

